Jump to content
DeployCentral

saving c:\mydocuments during re-image


sta4402
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hi Stuart,

If you use the "wipe and reload" option, the contents of a single folder on C: can be preserved on the target device. This has to be a folder in the root of C: (by default, it would be C:\Backup).

Using a folder in C:\Users would not be a practical option. This folder is created by Windows (so it would be wiped out upon reimaging). There are further reasons why this would be unworkable as well - user accounts have unique identifiers and permissions that would not match on the reimaged device even if you created a new account with the same name as the old one.

If your goal is to preserve files through reimaging, you'll want to copy these files to the C:\Backup folder (or another folder that you designate in the Deploy Wizard advanced options), and select the Wipe and Load Drives option.

If you're testing different backup methods, we would recommend backing up any data externally until you're certain the deployment is configured as desired, in order to avoid data loss. Feel free to reach out if you have any questions - you can reach us at support (at) smartdeploy.com

SmartDeploy Support Team

TECH RESOURCES

SmartDeploy User Guides

DeployCentral Forum

Platform Pack RSS

SOCIAL

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...